Could you help?

This topic contains 7 replies, has 279 voices, and was last updated by  Mpujals 12 years ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

Mpujals

My name is Sara Ilia Maya, and I am a 6th grade student at Hancock Middle School in the Kiln, Ms. I was recently recommended and accepted to participate as a member of the People to People World Leadership Forum in Washington, D.C., next spring. The objective of the program is to develop leadership skills among America’s youth while exploring defining moments in American history. The 7-day experience includes discussing leadership in action at such venues as Capitol Hill, Gettysburg, and Colonial Williamsburg.

I am currently seeking financial sponsors to help me with tuition, and hope I can count on your support. In case you haven’t heard of People to People, please allow me to share some history with you. President Dwight D. Eisenhower founded the organization in 1956. He believed that if people from different cultures could come together in peace and friendship, so eventually would countries. Since its founding, People to People has launched many international programs, including Sister Cities, Project HOPE and Pen Pals.

People to People student leaders are recommended and evaluated before their acceptance and I am honored to have been selected. Personally, I am looking forward to learning about how our Presidents helped shape the United States. Upon my return, I plan to share my experience with my school and civic clubs in our community. As student leader, I can also earn high school credit because of the many educational elements in my program.