Golf Course Revenue

This topic contains 5 replies, has 215 voices, and was last updated by  todbjd 8 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

todbjd

Mr. Alfonzo, a few days ago I had a debate with 3-4 times a week DH golfer. His position was that the DH courses were making annual profits until hurricane Katrina. Stating the hurricane damage discouraged snow birds from visiting our community therefore lessening golf revenue. My position was and is that in my almost 11 years as a DH resident I do not remember the golf course revenue ever being in the black. Can you settle this debate?

Editor

Your golfing debater has been playing golf at the cheapest rates of any golf course in the U. S. courtesy of membership dues subsidies for over seven (7) years. This is according to the POA board’s own records and financial reports.
    In actuality the golf courses probably have never made a true profit since they were built. The POA board has a peculiar way of financial reporting. They lump the salaries for their management under an ambiguous “Administrative” account. That means that the salaries of the golf pro and course superintendant are not included in the operating expenses for the golf course. Same is true of the Country Club. The combined loses for both by proper accounting standards would be over $2,000,000.00 last year.
    And your debater still keeps playing golf at $2-$4 per day. Does he keep a straight face?

wayne king
    Participant