So we are still on the hook for $66.50/month to the POA?

Home Forums Diamondhead Mississippi General Discussion General Topics of Interest So we are still on the hook for $66.50/month to the POA?

This topic contains 19 replies, has 685 voices, and was last updated by  jameslynnmartin 2 years, 6 months ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 20 total)
  • Author

Why? Do they still have authority to place property leins for non-payment of dues, even though Diamondhead is now a city?

I suppose some Real Estate lawyer could say.

MarkL

Good question. Why?

Lce
    Participant

jameslynnmartin – 2015-01-02 6:21 PM Why? Do they still have authority to place property leins for non-payment of dues, even though Diamondhead is now a city? I suppose some Real Estate lawyer could say.

Hi,

Wish I could answer your question but I’m not a lawyer nor do I know what has happened to anyone who has refused to pay. As a layperson as far as I can tell we’re still on the hook for $66.50/mo until 2020 when the covenants expire. But as things go with the POA I have a feeling that when 2020 rolls around Purcell and his cronies will be able to use his many votes and proxy’s to renew the covenants in perpetuity. Sad that the POA won’t acknowledge how these high dues to keep cheap golf for a small group of well-heeled members are a hardship for good folk who are disabled, elderly or on tight fixed incomes.

Here’s a link to a document about the covenants & expiration dates (written by Mr Mario Feola) that I just found on dnol. Maybe it will shed a little light on what will happen in 5 years.

http://www.diamondheadnews.com/absolutenm/templates/?z=0&a=1283

RogerSmith